Saga Vol. Two by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Title: Saga Volume Two
Author: Brian K. Vaughan
Artist: Fiona Staples
Published: 2013
Language: English
Pages: 144
Rating: 3/5

Saga Volume One was a hit, both with me and my brother. For his birthday last week I gave him the second volume – which was not in the least a bit selfish, haha! I believe I even read the book before giving it to him, so I was definitely looking forward to reading it.

The second volume starts where the first had ended: Alana and Hazel meet Marko’s parents who aren’t exactly supporting of their son’s relationship with Alana. Fortunately a mutual enemy brings the family quickly closer as they once again are going into hiding.

Looking back upon my rating, I’m not sure why I gave this volume only 3/5 stars as opposed to 4/5 stars like its prequel. I think it was because I was a little disappointed in the world building. The first volume takes its time to sketch the world in which Alana and Marko live, how they met and why they took off together. I expected the second volume would broaden our scope and to a certain degree it does, but maybe not enough to my taste.

Still, I’m not entirely happy with my 3/5 rating. Too bad Goodreads doesn’t support a .5 system, because a 3.5 would have been better. Anyhow, for now I’ll keep it this way. In short: I would still recommend this volume and the series as a whole. I would also really like to read the third volume, but I’m not as eager to pick that one up as I was with this one. I guess I can wait another year for my brother’s birthday …

Amber Linde

Read more about this book at Goodreads
Buy this book at BookDepository.com

One thought on “Saga Vol. Two by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

  1. Pingback: January Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

