January Book Haul

A very modest little book haul this January – I’m really trying to buy less books and spend my money only on books that I know I love. I’m trying to complete a few collection, but I’m also continuously starting new ones. There are four books this month!

I bought two books from BookDepository: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep by Philip K. Dick and Beowulf translated by Michael Alexander. I won a beautiful new copy of Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, published by Vintage Classics via the Vintage YouTube Channel and last but not least I received the eBook edition of Countryside, The Book of the Wise by J.T. Cope IV for free in exchange for an honest review.

I’ve already talked about my love for the Vintage Classics books in this post, but I’m again impressed by their new Russian Classics series. Pretty! I already own their Austen and Brontë series, and I’m currently collecting the Virgina Woolf editions (so far so good: I already own Orlando and A Room of One’s Own – currently reading the latter).

I was also very curious to the works of Philip K. Dick. I’m enjoying the dystopian genre very much lately and both Dick and Atwood are at the top of my dystopian TBR list. As there will be a new Blade Runner movie coming out this year, I figured it would be the perfect time to pick up the book that started it all. Still have to watch the first movie, though.

Beowulf is my third addition in the Legends from the Ancient North series, published by Penguin. I really enjoyed Sir Gawain and the Green Knight and Beowulf sounds just like something I would enjoy as well. I also own The Saga of the Volsungs which will probably be my next read.

I’m currently reading three books, one of which is Countryside by J. T. Cope IV. I must say that I’m not really blown away, partly because it is advertised as being similar to Narnia and Percy Jackson. Now, I’ve not read Percy Jackson, but saying something is ‘similar to’ such a beloved series as Narnia is dangerous, I tell you!

Well, that’s it for today. Do tell me what books you have bought lately!

Amber Linde

Leave a Reply

