Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling e.a.

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Author: J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Published: 2016
Language: English
Pages: 343
Rating: 2/5


24. Rowling, J. K., John Tiffany and Jack Thorne - Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
As a die hard Harry Potter fan I was both hesitant and excited to pick up the ‘new’ instalment in the series. Hesitant because I think the series is great as it is and because I’m allergic to authors and directors that don’t know when to stop. It can definitely ruin my love for a book or movie. On the other hand it is always exciting: you’re longing to return to the world that you have loved so much …

Time to steal some wands and get potioning.

Let me start by saying that however hesitant I may be at first, I will probably always buy something Rowling writes – whether it is Harry Potter related or not. That being said: this was a huge disappointment. Not that I was surprised by that, but a disappointment nonetheless. Let me start with some good news: I really, really loved reading about Ron and Hermione, Draco, Ginny and Harry again and their children are great characters. I also think that the story would do well on stage.

Still, if I had to choose a companion to be at the return of darkness with, I’d choose you.

HOWEVER, I think the script is a) pretty farfetched and b) a mere shadow of the former books. Some plays (maybe even the best) work well on paper, but this doesn’t. We all remember Rowling’s excellent writing and why it was so good: she could create an atmosphere in just a few sentences, but could also describe in great detail all the funny little quirks of the magic world. There is no room for these things in a play – many things are overlooked. Things that probably come across way better on stage. On the other hand, the plot is too farfetched. Rowling has always been an author who doesn’t rush towards the plot (hello, she took her time with those seven books!), but carefully unfolds the story as we go along. The play messes with that – big time.

To cut a long story short: I applaud Rowling for revisiting the Harry Potter universe in a unique way – I think that is, after all, the only way to continue a well known story. I wouldn’t recommend the script to anyone however: I only gave it two stars instead of one because … you know … it’s Harry Potter.

Amber Linde

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling e.a.

  1. Ik vond het verhaal ook niet fantastisch (enkele momenten stoorde ik me echt aan; zo níet Harry Potter), maar ik vond het toch heerlijk even terug te duiken in de HP-wereld. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

