Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White

Title: Charlotte’s Web
Author: E. B. White
Published: 2016 (originally 1952)
Language: English
Pages: 176
Rating: 4/5
23. White, E. B. - Charlotte's WebI had heard of Charlotte’s Web before, but it wasn’t until Puffin Books published it in their lovely hardback classics that I picked it up. It is quite a simple story: a little girl Fern rescues the pig Wilbur from ‘the usual fate of nice little pigs’ and becomes his friend. Wilbur and Fern befriend Charlotte, the spider in the barn. Charlotte helps Wilbur and Fern to make sure that Wilbur will never end up as a pork steak.

It is not often that someone comes along who is a true friend and a good writer. Charlotte was both.

It was a nice and endearing story and I quite liked the fact that Charlotte is a spider. No good animal (pig Wilbur), bad animal (scary spider) here. I’m afraid that that’s about all that I have to say. Like I said, it is a simple story. Well written, but nothing too crazy. Now that I think about it: I haven’t given this book much thought since I read it, so 4 stars might be a bit too much. Anyway: fine story and I would recommend it.

Amber Linde

One thought on “Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White

Leave a Reply

