Top 5 | Books That BookTube Made Me Read …

Regan recently posted a video about her favourite books she read because of BookTube. Now, we all have those, haven’t we? Today I want to show you 5 books that I’ve read because of BookTube!

If I’ve written a review on this blog, you can click on the title to go to the book review. If not, use the Goodreads links to read more about the book!

3. Carter, A. - The Magic Toyshop

The Magic Toyshop by Angela Carter (****)
I think I wanted to read this book because 1) everybody was raving about the VMC Designer Classics and 2) Angela Carter was being re-discovered by half of BookTube. I like Carter’s whimsical, magical, dark story and language. I think I’ve found a new favourite author! I have yet to read more of her work – I don’t really know what to read next. I think I might really enjoy her Book of Fairy Tales and her Book of Wayward Girls and Wicked Women. I’m quite fussy with my books (I prefer hardbacks over paperbacks and I detest the Vintage red spines …) so I might hunt for her other novels in the second-hand shops. Although, this Penguin Classic Deluxe Edition of The Bloody Chamber looks nice!

Goodreads | BookDepository

61. O'Neill, L. - Only Ever Yours

Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill (***)
Both Jean and Sanne over on Jean Bookishthoughts and booksandquills raved about this book and I was intrigued by the dystopian storyline. It didn’t turn out to be a super amazing fantastic read, but I was definitely uncomfortable whilst reading it (which was, of course, O’Neill’s aim). It took me a while to finish it, not in the least because of the horrible and completely insane society, and it is still often on my mind. It isn’t a really original story (and that’s why I gave it just 3 stars), but O’Neill definitely has the talent to make you feel rebellious. I’m really, really interested in her other novel, Asking For It – it sounds like a taboo-breaking book!

Goodreads | BookDepository

48. Logan, K. - A Portable Shelter

A Portable Shelter by Kirsty Logan (****)
I’m no great short story reader – I like my books big and chunky. But I would like to get into them more, because of my ‘reading more diversely’ aim. So, when I heard Jean, Jen ánd Mercedes talk and rave about this book, I decided to pick it up as well (in the pretty hardcover edition, obvs). I’m glad I did because I really liked it. It’s so not mainstream, but quirky, dark, magical and different. It also made me really happy in a way I can’t really describe or explain – just go and read it yourself! I would love to read Logan’s novel The Gracekeepers but I haven’t got around to buying it yet.

Goodreads | BookDepository

42. Hobb, R. - Assassin's Apprentice

Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb (****)
I never thought I would really get into fantasy (except for The Lord of the Rings), but Robin Hobb’s Farseer trilogy brought some changes … Her books are praised by a lot of BookTubers, notably Mercedes, Jean, Holly and Helene. I was intrigued by the title and description (who wouldn’t?) and decided to give it a try. I loved it. I took me a good few pages to get into the story, but it’s really worth the read. It wasn’t at all what I expected it to be – much less fantasy-esque than I thought (if you know what I mean) and much more literary. I would recommend this to anyone who loves adventure and mystery combined with a medieval-like world and some magic. [Edit: currently reading the next in the trilogy: Royal Assassin!]

Goodreads | BookDepository

52. Rhys, J. - Wide Sargasso SeaWide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys (****)
I honestly can’t remember who recommended this novel on BookTube (I think it might have been Jen), but I’m glad I was reminded of it once more. I had heard of it before and I knew what it was about, but I hadn’t had a chance to pick it up. When I had to write an essay on the voice of the subaltern for uni, I decided to write it about this book. It’s Rhys’s answer to Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre. It’s written as a sort of prequel in which we follow Mr Rochester’s first wife Bertha and the first period of their marriage. If you like Jane Eyre I would highly recommend this. It’s an eye-opener!

Goodreads | BookDepository

That’s it for today guys, I hope you enjoyed it. Feel free to leave book and channel recommendations in the comments below!

IMG_3070

 

Leave a Reply

