After You with the Pistol by Kyril Bonfiglioli

Title: After You with the Pistol
Author: Kyril Bonfiglioli
Published: 2014 (originally 1979)
Language: English
Pages: 184
Rating: 2/5

10. Bonfiglioli, K. - After You with the Pistol-001There are some books that just don’t suit you. Unfortunately, the Mortdecai-series by Bonfiglioli belong to that category.

The series consist of three novels, all published in the ’70’s. They’re Don’t Point that Thing at Me, After You with the Pistol and Something Nasty in the Woodshed. The ‘wickedly fun mysteries featuring the Honorable Charlie Mortdecai – degenerate aristocrat, amoral art dealer, seasoned epicurean, unwilling assassin, and general knave-about-Picadilly’ became an instant cult classic and are still very much loved.

Except by me. I read the first in the Mortdecai series last year. It sounded so much like anything I would enjoy … I just didn’t get it. I really could not see what all the fuss was about. I very much liked the idea of Mortdecai (you know, the somewhat elder, rich guy that gets himself in trouble, like, all the time, and marries this sassy, handsome woman) but I thought the story was all over the place. And it’s the same with the second one in the series.

I might just be the only one in the world that doesn’t get the humour – I do apologize, but I couldn’t recommend this at all. I gave it two stars because there are some nice witty pages in there, but all together – meh.

What is you latest disappointment?

IMG_3070

Buy this book at the BookDepository
Read more about this book on Goodreads

One thought on “After You with the Pistol by Kyril Bonfiglioli

Leave a Reply

