The Fairy-Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley

Title: The Fairy-Tale Detectives
Author: Michael Buckley
Published: 2005
Language: English
Pages: 284
Rating: 2/5

5. Buckley, M. - The Fairy-Tale Detectives

I’ve a soft spot for children’s literature, so when I spotted the first two volumes of The Grimm Sisters series in my local second hand shop, I was pleasantly surprised. I’d never heard of the series before, but it did sound very good: fairy tale characters (‘Everafters’) are stuck in our world, can’t leave the little town they’re in and two girls have to solve all the problems and crimes that occur.

Does that sound familiar to you to? It didn’t to me at first, but when I was a few chapters in, I couldn’t ignore the fact that the outline was a lot like the Once Upon A Time TV series. And not only that: the TV series is better. Children’s books can be good – they should be good. C. S. Lewis once said: ‘A children’s story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children’s story in the slightest’, and I couldn’t agree more.

The Fairy-Tale Detectives might be enjoyable for children, but it is a very simple, flat and predictable story: nothing is explained well or sufficiently and Buckley could have done so much more in describing the world, the town of Ferryport Landing and the Everafters. Also, the art work were really not my cup of tea. There were a few nice touches to the story that made me give it 2 stars instead of 1, but I couldn’t recommend this book to anyone. There are so much far more interesting and original children’s books out there!

What is the latest book you were really disappointed with?

IMG_3070

 

 

Get this book at the BookDepository
Read more about this book on Goodreads

2 thoughts on “The Fairy-Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley

Leave a Reply

