The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien

Title: The Return of the King
Author: J.R.R. Tolkien
Published: 2005 (originally 1955)
Language: English
Pages: 436
Rating: 5/5

2. Tolkien, J.R.R. - The Return of the King

I did it! I finally finished The Return of the King and completed the Lord of the Rings series. It took a while for me to get through them all (a good few months!) but I’m glad to have read them. I will do a separate blog post on the series as a whole and my experience reading them, but for now I just want to focus on the last book in the trilogy.

I think The Return of the King is the most action-packed book in the trilogy. So much happens that I went through it a great deal faster than I did with the first and second book. Although I knew the story relatively well (my mother was quite a fan …) I still wanted to read on and on and discover more about Aragorn, Faramir and Éowyn and Sam and Frodo.

Because there is a lot more action in this final book, I think it is also the most readable one of the three. Tolkien’s language is at times not very accessible (which is quite understandable considering the fact that the creation of Middle Earth took him many, many years), but the story sure was.

That being said, I gave the first and second books in the trilogy the same rating as this one, just because I was so in awe of Tolkien’s creation. I think it is a true masterpiece that deserves to be read – now and in many years to come. (Oh, and if I, by any chance, have convinced you to read The Lord of the Rings as soon as possible, than please do pick up the beautiful, beautiful hardcover anniversary edition by HarperCollins. You. Won’t. Regret.)

What did you thing of The Lord of the Rings series?

IMG_3070

 

 

Get this book at the BookDepository
Read more about this book on Goodreads

4 thoughts on “The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien

Leave a Reply

