Fantastic Mr Fox by Roald Dahl

Title: Fantastic Mr Fox
Author: Roald Dahl
Published: 2010 (originally 1970)
Language: English
Pages: 82
Rating: 5/5

Dahl, R. - Fantastic Mr Fox

I’m slowly reading my way through all of Roald Dahl’s children’s books. So far I’ve read Matilda, The Witches,The BFG and now Fantastic Mr Fox. It was always my little brother’s favourite bed-time story. He loved it more than Charlie and the Chocolate Factory or its sequel. How he laughed when the cunning – the fantastic! – Mr Fox outwitted the creepy farmers Boggis, Bunce and Bean.

Fantastic Mr Fox is the only Dahl book out of these four that I had read before (albeit in a Dutch translation). Come to think of it, I think we only had the Charlie books and this one – all the other stories I know because of the movie adaptations.

On to the book itself and just as its pages I can be short: its fantastic. I gave the other three books 4 stars, but I did give this 5, just because it was excellent in its genre. It is short, funny and definately thrilling for young readers. Oh, children’s books! Sometimes I wished I (already) had a little niece or nephew to buy books for *sighs* …

What’s your favourite children’s book?

IMG_3070

 

 

Get this book at the BookDepository
Read more about this book on Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Fantastic Mr Fox by Roald Dahl

  1. And it was such a lot of fun reading this book to you and your brother! Thank God we had an excellent translation! Love, Sophy-Ann.

    Like

Leave a Reply

