Winter TBR

Yay, I’m back! It has been four months – FOUR MONTHS – since my last post. I know, it’s insane. I’m going to write a short blog post about the reason for my absence (’cause it’s bookish related!), but for now I just really want to get back into blogging. Let’s get started!

Christmas and Sinterklaas (for the non-Dutchies, click on the link) are over and January is, for most people at least, a bit of a hangover month. Away go the twinkling fairylights, the delishious food and happy company (hello grumpy fellow humans!) and in comes cold, harsh and bleak January. So what better reason to compile a seasonal TBR with three books I would like to read during winter!?

Authors-006The Return of the King by J. R. R. Tolkien
I’ve already started this one, the last volume of the Lord of the Rings trilogy. As you might know, I had a bit of trouble with this series: I just couldn’t get past The Two Towers. Halfway through the storyline switches from Aragorn, Legolas and Gimly to Sam, Frodo and Gollum. And I thought the chapters on Frodo and Sam were so. Dull. Yeah, well, it turns out they’re not (who would have thought?) and I actually quite enjoyed the second part of The Two Towers. That being said, I have to say that I think Tolkien’s writing isn’t as steady all way through. There are a few (just a few, mind you) parts that I thought weren’t as well written as the rest of the books. I’m really looking forward to finishing The Return of the King. I’m about halfway through now and the end is nigh …

Authors-007Mansfield Park by Jane Austen
Need I say more? It would be my very last Austen novel … It has always been my least favourite TV-adaptation (both the 1999 and the 2007 I didn’t enjoy so much) so I’m a bit hesitant to pick this one up. But you know, Austen never disappoints!

Authors-008The Magic Toyshop by Angela Carter
I have a feeling this is going to be a fantastical, dark and twisted story. But I’m in for it! I’ve heard none but good things about this books and Carter in general and I think I might really like her work.

That everything for today. I hope you enjoyed this TBR – feel free to give me any recommendations based on these three books!

What’s on your winter TBR?

IMG_3070

4 thoughts on “Winter TBR

  1. Nice, you’re back! I’m currently finishing Oorlog en Terpentijn by Stefan Hertmans and after that I’m going to test my Christmas present… an e-reader! I agree that this lacks the authentic feeling of turning the pages, but now I can finally take big books without hurting my back while riding public transport 😉
    happy new reading year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you :-)! Oooooh, e-readers are fantastic! I have one myself and I use it quite often … I’m a book collector so I always want to have the physical copy of the book itself, but I really enjoy reading all sorts of classics on my e-reader. Do you know the Gutenberg Project? Just Google it … you can get all kind of classics (books that are about 80 years ‘old’ like Jane Austen, Brontë, that sort of stuff) for free. It’s amazing. I like to use my e-reader whilst commuting as well and it’s sooooo great for reading at night (if you have backlight that is ;-)!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

