The Portable Door by Tom Holt

I discovered The Portable Door by Tom Holt via Jean Bookish Thoughts over on YouTube. When she did a review video on this book and was very enthusiastic about it, I decided that I had to pick this book up as well. I did sound so good: a mysterious firm in London, two lovable characters and some mystery … Today I’m going to tell you whether or not it lived up to my expectations!

IMG_4420Title | The Portable Door
Author | Tom Holt
Published | 2004 (originally 2003)
Language | English
Pages | 404
Goodreads | ★★★
Book Depository | paperback editionIMG_4423Summary
Starting a new job is always stressful, but when Paul Carpenter arrives at the office of H.W. Wells he has no idea what trouble lies in store. Because he is about to discover that the apparently respectable establishment now paying his salary is in fact a front for a deeply sinister organization that has a mighty peculiar agenda. It seems that half the time his bosses are away with the fairies. But they’re not, of course. They’re away with the goblins. (Goodreads)IMG_4421First sentence:

After a very longe time, the door opened, and the tall, Aryan-looking bloke came out.

I’m not going to tell you much more about the story itself than the above-mentioned summary. What I can tell you is that, although I liked reading it, the book did not live up to my expectations. I admit that I had extremely high expectations because Jean was raving about it so much but I think that even if I went in expecting and knowing nothing, I would have ended up – not so much disappointed – but not extremely impressed either.

Crazy as a tankful of gay piranhas.

IMG_4302The Portable Door is not a bad book: it is enjoyable, well written and a quick and pleasant read. That’s why I gave three out of five stars; I think a lot of people will enjoy Holt’s humour and the magical realism aspect. However, I thought that the story was not very well developed, nor extremely funny. It is a nice read, there are a few nice jokes and the story over all is very light hearted, but not in an hilarious kind of way. It feels like it’s trying to be a comic sort of book with magical aspects, but it doesn’t quite do the trick – if you know what I mean.

However, the characters are enjoyable – especially the main character – and the magical realism idea is really nice. Holt could have developed that aspect a little bit more, but that might be just me not having read the sequel (and the other books in the series).IMG_4424This review might come across as negative, so I probably should set that straight now. I would recommend this book to certain people and I might even pick up the sequel eventually. If you’re looking for a quick, light and enjoyable read with a twist and you love a bit of humour, than this will definitely do the trick!


Have you read this series by Tom Holt?


IMG_3070

2 thoughts on “The Portable Door by Tom Holt

Leave a Reply

