Book for Thought #2

In the Book for Thought-series I share with you one of the books from my currently reading pile. In the blog post I show you what book I’ve chosen and which edition I’m reading. In the comments I’d love to hear your thoughts on the book in particular, the writer or the genre – you do not have to have read this particular book; questions are most welcome as well! This week’s book is … The Fellowship of the Ring!

IMG_4413IMG_4408IMG_4407I’m currently rereading The Fellowship of the Ring. As you might know, I started reading The Lord of the Rings last year, but I got off track during the second volume, The Two Towers. Now I’m having another go and hope to actually read all three volumes.

I love this edition by the way – I believe it’s one of the latest editions and the fiftieth anniversary edition as well. The lay-out it absolutely stunning as are the maps and elvish runes that are included in the book. It’s even beautiful without the dustcover. A prologue and notes on the text are also included and very interesting to read. This is the only one of the HarperCollins volumes I own, but the second one is on its way …

You can get this edition on Book Depository.


What are your thoughts on this book?


IMG_3070

 

5 thoughts on “Book for Thought #2

  1. Aan deze serie heb ik me nog nooit gewaagd, ik heb wel de eerste film gezien ooit in de bios, was niet echt mijn ding, ik ben daar veel te schrikachtig voor (die paarden!). Ook heb ik de Hobbit gelezen, maar ik zal eerlijk bekennen, in een recalcitrante “ik wil het niet goed vinden”-stemming, dus misschien bevalt het met een meer open mind beter. Ooit ga ik me er aan wagen, ooit!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, ik herken het wel een beetje. Niet bij The Hobbit – die heb ik nu denk ik twee, drie keer gelezen en vind ik echt geweldig – maar The Lord of the Rings is wel echt een knoeperd van een boek natuurlijk … Het leest wel vrij gemakkelijk als je er echt goed inzit, maar je moet dan ook beginnen op een vrije zaterdagmiddag of zo! Ik denk dat als je het nog eens wil beginnen misschien beter eerst nog eens The Hobbit kan herlezen. The Fellowship of the Ring vloeit daar gemakkelijk in over (ook al kan je ze ook wel apart van elkaar lezen) en dan zit je er al een beetje in 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

