Prince Caspian by C. S. Lewis

The Chronicles of Narnia are probably one of my favourite children’s books of all time, although I discovered the series when the first film came out in 2005. I was thirteen at that time, so I was already in my teens but I started reading the first volume and was absolutely captivated. Last April I was given The Voyage of the Dawn Treader in a beautiful facsimile edition by my lovely friend and of course I couldn’t resist buying the other available volumes as well! Today I’ll tell you something more about my revisit to Narnia in Prince Caspian.

IMG_4027Title | Prince Caspian. The Return To Narnia
Author | C. S. Lewis
Published | 2009 (originally 1951)
Language | English
Pages | 195
Goodreads | ★★★★
BookDepository | facsimile editionIMG_4024Summary
Prince Caspian features a return to Narnia by the four Pevensie children of the first novel, about one year later in England but 1300 years later in Narnia. Men dominate Narnia, the talking animals and mythical beings are oppressed and some may be endangered. The English siblings are legendary Kings and Queens of Narnia whom the refugee Prince Caspian magically recalls for assistance, as children once again. (Goodreads)IMG_4025First sentence:

Once there were four children whose names were Peter, Susan Edmund and Lucy, and it has been told in another book called The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe how they had a remarkable adventure.

Just as all the other volumes Prince Caspian is a really quick read. It’s not my favourite of all seven, but I guess you’re just bound to like one better than the other when there are so many volumes. I loved the character of Prince Caspian, though, but I thought it was a pity that it took quite a while before Caspian and the Pevensies met each other.

‘… my old heart has carried these secret memories so long that it aches with them and would burst if I did not whisper them to you.’

IMG_4012

But all night Aslan and the Moon gazed upon each other with joyful and unblinking eyes.

I would highly recommend the series as a whole, but also Prince Caspian in specific – even though it’s not my absolute favourite. It is a children’s book, but Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia prove that among children’s book there is also great literature to be found. His writing is subtle and magical and enjoyable for both children, teens, young adults and grown-ups.IMG_4005O – I couldn’t not end this post with the wonderfully witty Lucy:

‘That’s the worst of girls,’ said Edmund to Peter and the Dwarf. ‘They never can carry a map in their heads.’
‘That’s because our heads have something inside them,’ said Lucy.

Well said, that is!


What’s your favorite volume of The Chronicles of Narnia?


IMG_3070

One thought on “Prince Caspian by C. S. Lewis

Leave a Reply

