The Wicked Wit of Jane Austen

Last month I read The Wicked Wit of Jane Austen by Dominique Enright: quite a plain sort of book and part of the ‘Wicked Wit’ series, but I loved it. Next to quotes from Austen’s novels, Enright inserted quotes from Austen’s personal letters to family members and friends. She’s. So. Funny! IMG_4031Title | The Wicked Wit of Jane Austen
Author | Dominique Enright
Published | 2011
Language | English
Pages | 160
Goodreads | ★★★★
Bookdepository | hardback editionIMG_4029By now, I’ve got a pretty decent amount of books-about-Austen, and I’m glad this is one of them. I got it from my parents one or two years ago when they’d visited her tomb. They knew I loved her stories (although I hadn’t yet read all of her novels) and thought I’d like this as well. Sure I did!IMG_0033Summary
The Wicked Wit of Jane Austen is an absorbing collection of her sharpest, most profound and amusing observations – on human nature, money, marriage, life and society – taken from her novels and also from her extremely entertaining letters. (Goodreads)IMG_4030It’s not really I book that I can say much more of. It’s a collection of quotes from her books as well as her personal letters and the latter ones put her novels into perspective. I’d highly recommend this collection to every Austen fan. It made me put her collected letters on my TBR!


Have you read Jane Austen’s letters?


IMG_3070

2 thoughts on “The Wicked Wit of Jane Austen

    1. Het is zeker een heerlijk boek voor Austen fans – het viel me echt op hoe grappig ze overkwam in haar brieven: grappiger op een meer directe manier dan in haar boeken.

      Like

Leave a Reply

