Poetry – Help Me Out!

I’ve been into reading for as long as I can remember. Reading novels, that is to say. Although at one point (I was in my teens) I liked to write what I called poetry, I never really read poems. I think the only poet I’ve read several poems of, is the Romantic Jan Jacob Slauerhoff. I’d like to get into reading poetry but for weeks I’m trying to decide where to start and I can’t seem to decide which poet or poetry collection will be my first. That’s why I need your help!

Boeken-009

I like the idea of the Everyman’s Library Pocket Poets, and the supply is enormous, but that’s just the point. Where do I start? I think I’d like to start with some classic poets. As to novels, I’m into the Victorian writers, so a Victorian poet might be a good idea. But which one? Browning? Wilde? Tennyson? Or shall I go for Keats or Byron? I’ve absolutely no idea what I will enjoy.

And what about a poetry collection, centred around a common denominator? There are collections on love, on childhood, on mourning, on eating and drinking, on cats and dogs and horses, on gardens and nature and on life in general. What to do, what to do!?

So I’d like your advice on this subject. Have you read poetry and what did you enjoy? I’d love to hear what you favourites are!


What’s your experience with poetry?


IMG_3070

4 thoughts on “Poetry – Help Me Out!

  1. Ik hou heel erg van William wordsworth, hoewel dat een romantic poet is πŸ™‚ komt misschien ook omdat ik zijn geboortehuis en streek bezocht in Engeland! I wandered lonely as a cloud is mijn favoriete gedicht.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh ja, ik kan mij dat gedicht nog wel voor de geest halen – die hebben we behandeld tijdens Engelse literatuur. Ik denk dat ik de dichters uit de Romantische stroming wel kan waarderen. Bedankt voor de tip!

      Like

Leave a Reply

