My Summer TBR Update

In June I posted this blog post on my Summer TBR: all the books I intended to read during the summer months (June, July and August). I thought it would be fun to do two updates before the end of summer, at the start of each new month, and tell you how my TBR is coming along!

Boeken-010

There were eleven books on my TBR and I’ve read four of them already: The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters, Very Good Lives by J. K. Rowling, Prince Caspian by C. S. Lewis and All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

So far I’m really enjoying my Summer TBR. As I said in my last blog post on this subject, there was a chance that I would dislike the fact that I was pinning myself down to certain books, but I’m actually enjoying it. I think that’s why I love the Goodreads Challenge as well: it’s an incentive. Just as with the Goodreads Challenge I did set my aim lower than I thought I could achieve. I have not been abreast of things for a year, a year and a half or so, so I did not want these challenges to be a stress factor. I wanted them to be an impetus, but one that could be achieved fairly easy.

There are some big books on the list, like The Fellowship of the Ring and A Casual Vacancy, so there is still a lot to read (thank goodness!), but I like the idea of finishing something, a task, be it large or small. I read other stuff as well, by the way, like The Complete Winnie-The-Pooh and Het Diner (translated as The Dinner), both of which were not on my Summer TBR.

I’m currently reading Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, so I think that will be the next book to check off the list. After that I think I might start with another volume of the Chronicles of Narnia, because I still have to hand in a big report on the 17th of July and I think it would be best to wait with the really big books till after my deadline. Then I’ll get cracking with the big ones!


Did you compile a Summer TBR?


IMG_3070

2 thoughts on “My Summer TBR Update

  1. Gaat inderdaad erg goed! Ik wil The Fellowship of the Ring misschien komende maanden ook wel gaan lezen. Ik maak ook elke maand een TBR voor mezelf; soms haal ik ‘m makkelijk, soms verschuif ik enkele boeken naar de volgende maand. Maar het is een fijn idee om al een beetje te weten welke opties je hebt! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ja, precies dat! Afgelopen twee weken heb ik uit pure frustratie (over universitaire inleverzaken) een handvol Penguin English Library boeken gekocht. Nu wil ik die natuurlijk zo snel mogelijk lezen, haha, dus misschien dat er hier en daar nog wat geschoven wordt.

      Like

Leave a Reply

