Seen #6 June 2015

Yesterday I showed you the books I’ve read during the month of June, today I’m going to talk about the five films I’ve seen. Three of them were not English: two of them were French, one Dutch. Perhaps I felt more Europe oriented the past month …

Boeken-006
De Rouille et D’Os or Rust and Bone with Matthias Schoenaerts and Marion Cotillard, Ventoux with Abby Hoes and La Famille Bélier with Louane Emera and Francois Damiens.

The first film I saw was called De Rouille et D’Os (quite literally translated as Rust and Bone) with Matthias Schoenaerts and Marion Cotillard. I’d read that Schoenaerts performance in this film caused his breakthrough in Hollywood and because I thought he did a good job in Far From The Madding Crowd and because I have a tender spot for Marion Cotillard, I decided I wanted to watch this one. I was really impressed with the film (although I was not really fond of the explicit scenes) and I thought that Cotillard and Schoenaerts were evenly matched.

Ventoux is a Dutch film about a group of friends that are in their forties and decide to go back to France to climb Mont Ventoux. Thirty years before their friend Peter died during the descent. Next to trying to cope with grief, they’re also looking for answers. Why did Peter die? What was going on with him and Laura and Laura and Bart? I liked the movie, but I thought the ending was a little bit easy. I’d like to read the book however, just to see how much the movie differed from the actual story.

La Famille Bélier was the second French movie I saw, but completely different from De Rouille et D’Os. It tried to be a drama, comedy and romance in one, but I think it was more of a standard romcom than a real drama. Not necessarily in a bad way – the story was cliché (only hearing daughter of a deaf couple is trying to pursue a singing career) but I loved Karin Viard and Francois Damiens in this movie. The French songs sung by Louane Emera made up for the rest. All in all, this was a nice romcom. Not special, but really enjoyable.

Boeken-007
Northanger Abbey with Felicity Jones and Cinderella with Lily James and Cate Blanchett .

The other two movies were English-spoken. The first was Northanger Abbey, a TV movie by the BBC that I’d seen before. I’m currently reading the novel and I wanted to see how much the TV adaptation differed from the novel. I really like the story of Northanger Abbey and the character of Catherine and I think the BBC did a good job with this adaptation. I’ll talk about this in more detail in my upcoming review.

The last movie I saw was Cinderella, the latest adaptation of the fairy tale with Cate Blanchett as Cinderella’s stepmother. Blanchett was by far the best actor in this movie. Her performance almost made her character less of a stereotype than in the Disney adaptation. The rest was awfully cliché: the bling bling of the court, the golden carriage … But Helena Bonham Carter as the fairy godmother was hilarious. After seeing Bonham Carter as Bellatrix Lestrange in Harry Potter, it is just too weird to see her hob about in a dress resembling a candy floss.

As for the story and performances I think my favourite film of June was De Rouille Et D’Os and as for amusement I liked Le Famille Bélier best.


What was your favourite film of the past month?


IMG_3070

2 thoughts on “Seen #6 June 2015

  1. Ik wil Northanger Abbey ook kijken! Heb het boek tijdje terug gelezen. Ik vond Cinderella echt onwijs leuk; zo’n typische Disney film inderdaad. Helena en Cate waren echt fantastisch! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ik ben het boek nu aan het lezen en ik vind (tot nu toe) dat de BBC het echt goed heeft verfilmt. Natuurlijk corresponderen film en boek niet altijd helemaal met elkaar, maar voor zover mogelijk hebben ze dat wel gedaan. En Felicity Jones is natuurlijk gewoon een erg goede actrice! Zeker een aanrader. Haha, ja, Helena en Cate hebben de film wel een beetje gemaakt. Ik denk dat het zonder hen wel een beetje een erg standaard verfilming zou zijn geweest. Vooral Cate als nare stiefmoeder vond ik erg leuk!

      Like

Leave a Reply

