Read #6 June 2015

This month I decided to split the Read & Seen blog post up. Every time they turn out quite long and take up much time to compose, so I figured it would be better to spread the fun over two posts. Of most of them I have yet to write a review, but today I’m going to give you a little sneak peak of what I thought. 

Boeken-003
The Little World of Don Camillo by Giovanni(no) Guareschi, The Wicked Wit of Jane Austen by Dominique Enright and The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters.

I’ve read 7 books in June, but the first one I finished was a non-fiction one. It was (for the Dutchies over here!) called Mijn Heer en Liefste Hartje (My Lord and Dearest Darling) a collection of quotes of Lady Margaretha van Reede van Amerongen to her husband who travelled a lot. She is one of the chatelaines of the castle I’m working at at the moment and I enjoyed reading quotes from her letters.

Next to that more or less compulsory piece of literature, I also read six works of fiction. First of all Don Camillo en de Kleine Wereld by Giovannino Guareschi, translated from Italian and also available in English as The Little World of Don Camillo. I’d read it before and loved it still (you can read my review here).

Second was The Wicked Wit of Jane Austen by Dominique Enright. Enright has written a series of ‘The Wicked Wit of …’, including Dickens, Churchill and Shakespeare. My parents once gave me this book because they had visited Austen’s grave and purchased this because they knew I loved her work. I really liked reading quotes from her letters to her sister Cassandra and other family members and I don’t know about Dickens, Churchill or Shakespeare, but I think it’s safe to say that the title applies to Austen really well! She’s so funny and witty that I really want to read a collected work on her letters as well!

Third was a rather disappointing one, The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters, one of my Summer TBR books. I’m going to write a full review on this one, but if you’ve read this blog post on finishing books, you might have known already that this wasn’t one for me.

Boeken-004
The Complete Winnie-The-Pooh by A. A. Milne, Very Good Lives by J. K. Rowling and Prince Caspian by C. S. Lewis.

I’ve read two more children’s books and one adaptation of a speech by J. K. Rowling. The first book was The Complete Winnie-The-Pooh by A. A. Milne, in a more dated edition than the cover above. How I loved reading this! My mum used to read the tales of Winnie-the-Pooh to me and my brother. She had this well-thumbed copy that used to be hers when she was younger and I still remember the relaxation that came over me when she told us about Tigger, Eeyore, Piglet, Kanga …

Very inspiring and touching was Very Good Lives by J. K. Rowling. I’d already seen her 2008 speech and this little book is more or less the exact words she spoke that day. If you’re a fan, this is definitely something to pick up. I loved it.

Last but not least (and a children’s book as well) is Prince Caspian by C. S. Lewis. You might remember this splurge on four volumes of the Chronicles of Narnia (still looking out for the other three!) and of course I intent to read them all. I liked it very much, but I liked The Voyage of the Dawn Treader better. With seven books in a series you’re just bound to have a favourite or at least like one or two more than the rest – but that’s okay!

Well, that’s all for today. If you want to stay tuned, follow me on Goodreads! Tomorrow I’ll show you the ‘Seen’ part of this past month.


Have you got a favourite book of June?


IMG_3070

Leave a Reply

