Finishing Books?

Are you finishing every book you start? I’m usually the person that does, ’cause I think I owe it to the author to at least finish his or her book before I give an opinion. But now that I’m having a hard time finishing a certain book myself and that it wasn’t too long ago that I posted my books that deserve a second chance blog post, I’m starting to wonder whether you should really forceย a reading process like that.

IMG_3934This book by Sarah Waters is being a real pain in the ass these days. Or should I say weeks? I’m starting to feel quite lost in this novel. The first two hundred pages or so were okay. Not great, but okay. But then I put the book down and didn’t pick it up till this week – and only because I had put it onย my Summer TBR. I really forced myself to read the next three hundred pages and although the story took a interesting turn when a murder occurred, I really couldn’t be bothered to read the last hundred pages.

That was a few days ago. I’ve picked the book up again and I’m determined to finish it this week. I’m so fed up with it, but at the same time I feel obliged to finish it. I don’t know why, maybe it feels like failing? But that’s just stupid; it isn’t a test.

So today I actually want to ask you a question: do you ever not finish a book? And if yes, when en how do you decide it isn’t worth the trouble? I’d like to hear your thoughts on this one!

IMG_3070

6 thoughts on “Finishing Books?

  1. It doesn’t happen often, but there are books that I haven’t finished. But that’s only if it’s a library book or one I bought at the Kringloop and mostly when it was a random pick because I liked the title or the cover. Like you I feel obliged to finish the books I chose carefully or that were a present. One exception though, I so hated Gewassen Vlees by Thomas Roosenboom that I gave up halfway, even though it was a present by my favourite uncle. Normally I keep struggling because I keep thinking that the reason why the book is worth reading is on the next page, giving myself a deadline like you did usually helps :). Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mostly, if I don’t like a book, I’ll put it away for a while and read another book. But I’m determined to finish each book I read, so I most likely pick it up again later!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ik lees mijn boeken altijd uit, ook al merk ik halverwege het boek al dat ik het niets vind. Ontzettend irritant eigenlijk, want ik realiseer me heel goed dat ik die leestijd ook zou kunnen investeren in een boek dat ik wรฉl leuk vind, maar toch kan ik mezelf er nooit toe zetten een boek niet uit te lezen… X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, herkenbaar … Ik heb wel eens boeken weggelegd, maar die blijven dan in mijn hoofd rondspoken en dus heb ik mijzelf maar uitgedaagd het nog eens te proberen. Aargh :-)!

      Like

Leave a Reply

