The Coffee Book Tag & The 100th Blog Post!

Yeah, I did it! This post is going to be the 100th blog post on Tale of the Lime Tree. I’ve been loving blogging so far and I hope to continue to post fairly regularly in the future. To celebrate this milestone I’m going to answer some questions of the Coffee Book Tag. So grab yourself some coffee (tea is allowed as well …) and relax!

DeathtoStock_Medium10

To be honest, I’m more a tea lover than a coffee addict, but I like my caffeine so now and then. I found the tag at The Book Castle, a blog by the Norwegian Alice. Be sure to visit her blog, ’cause it’s lovely! Here we go!

1. BLACK: Name a series that’s tough to get into, but has hardcore fans
I think that has to be The Lord of the Rings. Although it really proved tough to get into for me, it sure has some diehard fans!

2. PEPPERMINT MOCHA: Name a book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year
I’m going to agree with Alice on this one: definitely Harry Potter. The films are broadcasted on television around Christmas and I’m rereading one or two of them, you can be sure of that!

3. HOT CHOCOLATE: What’s your favourite children’s book
Hot choco, now that’s not really coffee, is it? Just like some people would say children’s books ‘are not really books’. Ug, that’s just so wrong. I think one of my favourites were the Pippi Longstocking series. I also loved Annie M. G. Schmidt’s stories, like Minoes (translated as The Cat Who Came In Off The Roof). When I was somewhat older I discovered The Chronicles of Narnia and also Een Brief Voor de Koning by Tonke Dragt (translated as A Letter For The King). The sequel, The Secrets Of The Wild Wood, is coming out very soon, by the way!

IMG_0204-001

4. DOUBLE SHOT OF ESPRESSO: Name a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish
I think the last book that really kept me on the edge of my seat was The Truth About The Harry Quebert Affair by Joël Dicker. It was dead exciting.

5. STARBUCKS: Name a book you see everywhere
Hmm, I think I’m going for All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. Probably the best advertising campaign ever, ’cause I bought it …

IMG_3961

6. THAT HIPSTER COFFEE SHOP: Give a book by an indie author a shout out
I’m not really familiar with indie authors, so I think I’m going to put some Dutch authors out here. The above mentioned Tonke Dragt and Annie M. G. Schmidt are really worth reading: their works are considered literary heritage in the Netherlands and almost every Dutch kid is brought up with their stories. If I have to pick one book, I’d pick A Letter For The King. That book is amazing!

7. OOPS! I ACCIDENTALLY GOT DECAF: Name a book you were expecting more from
I think that would have to be When God Was A Rabbit by Sarah Winman.

8. THE PERFECT BLEND: Name a book or series that was both bitter and sweet but ultimately satisfying
O no, I think this has to be Harry Potter as well. Or The Hobbit. Or just both.

Feel free to do this tag as well!


What’s your ‘perfect blend’?


IMG_3070

5 thoughts on “The Coffee Book Tag & The 100th Blog Post!

  1. What a nice tag! I think I’ll answer this one when I have some time 🙂
    I’ve read the first LotR book and I loved it, but I don’t know why, I just never started the second one.
    And Chronicles of Narnia is on my TBR 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, same here then! But I’m going to try again – starting with The Fellowship of the Ring again – and I’m quite determined to finish the trilogy now. Oh and please do read the Chronicles of Narnia. They’re absolutely amazing!

      Like

      1. Oh my, I thought I was the only one doing those kind of things. I actually read the first Harry Potter in Dutch, English, French & German, just to see how it was translated. Still a huge fan of the Dutch translation, it’s done incredibly well, way better than the German and French version.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

