My Summer TBR

Summer is upon us and I’m really looking forward to reading in the sunshine. I thought it might be nice to put together a Summer TBR as a kind of mini challenge. Over the last few weeks I bought quite a few novels, so this way I hope to make sure I’m reading them as soon as possible (and not buying more books instead). Want to see what’s on the list?

I compiled a list of 10 books to read this summer. Feel free to share your own reading plans for the summer in the comment section below.

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters
About a mother and daughter receiving paying guests in London, 1922 (Goodreads). I’ve already read about one third of this novel and I liked it thus far, although I was a bit surprised by the lesbian relationship (not in a negative way, just surprised).
IMG_3934

The Fellowship Of The Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien
First in a series of three about Middle Earth and the fellowship that heads out to destroy the ring of power (Goodreads). I already told you that I’ve never read the whole Lord of the Rings trilogy, having failed to finish the second part of The Two Towers. I’m going to give it another try, however, and to make things interesting I purchased a beautiful hardcover edition of the first book in the trilogy.

The Light Years by Elizabeth Jane Howard
First in a series of five about the Cazalet family (Goodreads). I bought this book two months ago and really want to start reading this series now. It sounds interesting and although I’m not really a fan of World War II books, I was drawn by the fact that it was presented as a family saga.

IMG_3594

1984 by George Orwell
One of the first and still popular dystopian novels (Goodreads). Last March I read my first Orwell novel, Animal Farm, and it was a pleasant encounter, so I’m looking forward to reading 1984 as well.
IMG_3604

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Novel about ‘a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die’ (Goodreads). I wouldn’t normally pick a book like this up, but in just one week this book was recommended to me twice, so I had to give this a try. And to be honest, it sounds interesting!

IMG_3961

Very Good Lives and The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling
Okay, I sneaked in an extra one here, but Very Good Lives is just a small novel and an adaptation of a speech Rowling held in 2008 (Goodreads). The Casual Vacancy, ‘a big novel about a small town’, is a novel I’m very looking forward to reading (Goodreads). Rowling is one of my all time favourite authors and a very inspiring woman.

IMG_3949-2

Prince CaspianThe Horse And His Boy and The Last Battle by C. S. Lewis
Three volumes of the Narnia series. I purchased this one together with The Horse And His Boy and The Last Battle. I’m really looking forward to reading them, because I enjoyed The Voyage Of The Dawn Treader so much …

Foto's Internet-020

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
Oh yes! I’ve read four Austen novels so far (Emma, Pride & Prejudice, Persuasion and Sense & Sensibility) and I’m really glad I bought Northanger Abbey (in a stunning Vintage Classics edition, by the way!). I loved the BBC adaptation and I think I’m going to love the character of Catherine Morland!

Boeken-002

So, this is going to be my summer TBR. Normally, I don’t like to pin myself down to reading certain books, but I thought it was fun to compile a list as kind of a guide line. I hope you enjoyed it!


What books are on your summer TBR list?


IMG_3070

9 thoughts on “My Summer TBR

  1. Aah mooie TBR! Ik wil deze zomer The Hobbit lezen en mogelijk daarna beginnen aan The Lord Of The Rings (al zou ik dan de trilogie nog in huis moeten halen, dus voor mijn portemonnee is alleen The Hobbit beter haha! die heb ik al). En ik heb die editie van Northanger Abbey ook! Prachtige collectie. Ik las die volgens mij twee maanden terug ofzo en hoewel het niet mijn favo Austen is, blijft het een leuk boek! X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, The Hobbit is zo’n fijn boek! Ik heb daar ontzettend van genoten en het ondertussen al twee of drie keer gelezen. Vandaar mijn lichte schaamte over het Lord of the Rings project wat bij mij dus niet echt van de grond was gekomen. Toch maar eens proberen! Maar die ‘mooie’ edities zijn inderdaad erg prijzig, daar moet ik ook nog even een paar keer voor slikken. Ik ben benieuwd hoe ik Northanger Abbey ga vinden. Ik vond de BBC film altijd wel leuk en ik voelde mij vanwege de fascinatie voor boeken altijd wel een beetje verbonden met Catherine, maar ik ga het meemaken. Tot nu toe heeft geen enkele Austen Pride & Prejudice van zijn troon kunnen stoten. Al doen Emma en Persuasion het ook goed 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

