From Rowling to Pooh – New Books

I’ve got some new books to show you! I recently purchased three new books at BookDepository.com, but I also bought two books at the bookshop AND received and borrowed some books. Want to see what’s new on my TBR list?

IMG_3984-3

It all started with The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters. I had to wait some fifteen minutes for my train to depart, so I quickly popped in the bookstore at the train station. I browsed the English section and Waters’ book immediately stood out. The cover was attractive and the story on the back flap interesting, so I decided to buy it. (I’m that impulsive. I’m way more conscious when buying books on the internet.) I’d never read anything by Waters, but I’d heard good things about her and the story appealed to me.

IMG_3934

I actually read one third of the book already and I must say that I wasn’t really prepared for the lesbian love affair. I really like the writing, but for one reason or another I put the book down after Part One. I’m going to finish it, and the fact that I took a break from reading it has probably more to do with wanting to finish another book than not liking this one, but I’m having mixed feelings so far. I’ll keep you updated!

IMG_3961

Next book I bought (again at the train station) was All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. There’s a lot going on about this book, but I really picked it because of the story on the back flap and the nice cover. I’ll have to finish some other novels before I start reading this one, but I’m really looking forward to it!

Then my friend called (the one who gave me this beautiful edition of The Voyage of the Dawn Treader).  She was in the local thrift store and saw The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling in a beautiful hardcopy edition! If I was interested. Say what!?

IMG_3949-2

Isn’t it beautiful? I’m always wondering why people give books like this away. It’s probably never used (or read only once). I’m so excited about this one! As you’ll probably know, I’m a huge J. K. Rowling fan – I absolutely devoured every Harry Potter book – and I wanted to read this novel for a really long time. So I think you can say that my best friend was in the right place!

IMG_3968-2

When I hung up on her after I had told her that “YES, OF COURSE I WANTED THAT BOOK!” she texted me if I was interested in The Complete Winnie-the-Pooh as well. Yes, I was! Ernest Shepard is one of the best illustrators I know and I loved the Winnie-the-Pooh stories when I was a kid. My mother had this well-thumbed copy that used the be hers when she was young and it had Shepard’s illustrations as well. I loved Eeyore the most, ’cause he was so sad and ate thistles – that was a very disturbing fact according to my young self.

IMG_3938Last but not least is Het Diner by Herman Koch (English edition available called The Dinner). Much as I love to collect and therefore buy books, I decided to borrow this one. I’ve read Koch’s latest novel, Geachte Heer M (or Dear Mr. M) and I didn’t enjoy that one. Het Diner is Koch’s most celebrated novel, so I’d like to give it a try, but I didn’t want to waste my money in case it turns out to be not-so-great as well.

That’s it for today! When my BookDepository order has arrived, I’ll show you more …


What books did you buy, borrow or receive last month? And have you read any of the above-mentioned?


IMG_3070

2 thoughts on “From Rowling to Pooh – New Books

Leave a Reply

