The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C. S. Lewis

Last April, my best friend gave me this absolutely stunning edition of The Voyage of the Dawn Treader as a birthday present. We both loved Narnia when we were younger and this is her favourite volume (next to The Magician’s Nephew) so that makes it all the more special. It’s been a while since I’ve read this, and it appeared to be a very pleasant reunion with my favourite fairy tale friends.

IMG_3700

First sentence:

There was a boy called Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it.

The third time the Pevensie children visit Narnia, they’re only two: Lucy and Edmund. Together with their annoying cousin Eustace, they’re once again called upon to help the Narnians. Three years have passed since their last visit and this time they aid King Caspian in his quest to find the seven lost Lords of Narnia. Of course Reepicheep joins in as well!

She felt quite sure they were in for a lovely time.

IMG_3625

Eustace is one of the main characters and of course his transition from annoying cousin to a friendly companion is one of the most important plotlines.

He wanted to be friends. He wanted to get back among humans and talk and laugh and share things.

The Chronicles of Narnia were designed for children, so of course the story is not very complex, but once you get into it it’s heart warming and beautifully written. I was afraid that I’d outgrown the story, but it still appealed to me as much as ever before, although I think I like it in a different way now. When I was younger, the adventurous storyline and the mysterious Narnian creatures appealed to me the most, while now I especially admired Lewis’ writing and the immense skill he must have had to write a story that appeals to both children and adults.

I think not many writers of children’s books are given a gift like that – or at least I’m not familiar with many authors of Lewis’ calibre (except for figures like Roald Dahl and J. K. Rowling of course). When a children’s story becomes a classic and is pleasing for children as well as adults, reading them continues to be a joy. For while we keep on reading them and growing older at the same time, we will keep on discovering new stories and subtexts within them.

He is the great Lion, the son of the Emperor over Sea, who saved me and saved Narnia. We’ve all seen him. Lucy sees him most often. And it may be Aslan’s country we are sailing to.’

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
The film adaptation of The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (source).

I loved reading Lewis’ novel again and I hope to add the other volumes to my collection as well. The only problem is that this facsimile edition is quite hard to find. After some research I found them on Amazon.co.uk, here and on bookdepository.com (though not all volumes are in stock). Enjoy!

There is a way into my country from all the worlds.


Have you read Lewis’ The Chronicles of Narnia? What do you think of this facsimile edition?


IMG_3070

7 thoughts on “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C. S. Lewis

  1. Dit lijkt me zo’n leuk boek! Fijne review! En de uitgave die je hebt is onwijs mooi, jammer dat het moeilijk is om de andere delen te vinden. X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

