Beautiful Books

We’ve all been told never to judge a book by its cover, but if you’re anything like me you’re walking straight to the fancy bindings when browsing the bookshop. And why not? If I can choose between a cheaper but plain paperback and a beautifully designed cover, I’d choose the latter one. I like reading and collecting books – a beautiful book, inside but also outside, definitely makes me happy. That’s why Jean from Jean Bookishthoughts  over on YouTube started with the ‘Beautiful Books’ series and I thought I’d share you some of mine!

Have I got some books for you! This first post is going to be hardcovers only and I’m starting with three beauties from Barnes & Noble’s Collectible Edition.

IMG_3665I’ve talked about these books before, though I’ve never done a proper post about the Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland one. I got Alice as a present, the other two I ordered myself a while ago and I’m still so happy I did! They’re absolutely stunning. I was in doubt whether to buy Pride & Prejudice instead of Sense & Sensibility, but as I had not yet read the latter, I added Sense & Sensibility to the cart. I hope to add this edition of Pride & Prejudice to my collection soon, though, ’cause I think these hardcovers are collector’s items!

IMG_3669
This edition of Sense & Sensibility is available on the Barnes & Noble website and via bookdepository.com.

Look how pretty! I love the covers! In general, I’m not the biggest fan of bright colours and I wasn’t too sure on the green, but it didn’t dissuade me from buying them. They’re good quality and well … they make me smile!

IMG_3667
You can get this edition of Persuasion at the Barnes & Noble website and via bookdepository.com.

The hardcovers from the Collectible Edition are quite expensive, with prices around € 20,- to € 25,-, but bookdepository offers great discounts regularly, so go check that out!

IMG_3673
You can buy a similar edition to this Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland at the Barnes & Nobles website or via bookdepository.com.

I can’t seem to find this particular edition of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland anywhere. Not at the Barnes & Noble website, nor anywhere else. I think they must have substituted it for this pink edition, but I’m not quite sure. Barnes & Noble has a children’s edition in their Collectible Edition series as well; you can check it out here.

IMG_3677

Let’s move on to the next one! I’ve written about this book before, but the blog post is available in Dutch only (click here). I think this is a beautiful cover. Simple and colourful with a vintage feel to it – what’s not to like?

IMG_3678
How To Be A Heroine by Samantha Ellis is available at bookdepository.com or at the Vintage Books website.

The next three books are written by the famous Swedish writer Astrid Lindgren and are pure childhood memories to me.

IMG_3679

It’s Pippi! These are the Dutch translations from the seventies, hence they look a little bit different to what you might be used to.

IMG_3686
Pippi Longstocking.

I’ve always liked this cover the best. The way the Dutch illustrator depicted Pippi wasn’t at all how she was depicted in Sweden and the rest of Scandinavia; much more lady like. That probably was not how Lindgren intended Pippi to look like, but it’s how I remember her. The big had, the ridiculously long boots and the altered blue dress.

IMG_3683
Pippi Longstocking Goes On Board.

These three books actually belonged to my mother when she was young, so as you can tell from the covers they underwent some serious reading. Taped together and stripped from the binding all together, they certainly are a true treasure …

IMG_3680
Pippi Longstocking in the South Seas.

This not so politically correct cover is again proof of its long existence.

IMG_3699

C. S. Lewis’ Narnia is another book that brings back the memories! I got this beautiful edition as a gift from my lovely friend when I was visiting her in London. She gave me this volume ’cause it was her favourite next to The Magician’s Nephew. Makes it all the more valuable to me! And. It’s. So. Pretty!

IMG_3700

This is actually the exact same cover as the first ever edition of the Chronicles of Narnia (see here). The text on the dustcover reads: ‘The covers and content have been carefully recreated, with text and images taken directly from the early printings. The books in this series will enable you to enjoy the Narnia experience as it was originally presented.’ We found this edition in Waterstones, but it’s not been easy to track this one down on the Internet, though it appears on isfdb.com.

IMG_3704

This is the last beauty for now: The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame. I love the drawings by Ernest Shepard (the one from Winnie the Pooh).

IMG_3705

This edition is vintage, printed in 1978.

IMG_3708

Okay, this has nothing to do with the cover, but I had to show you the gorgeous endpapers of this edition. Isn’t that just beautiful?

IMG_3707

That’s it for today! I hope you enjoyed this first Beautiful Books edition – may there be many more!


What are your Beautiful Books?


IMG_3070

6 thoughts on “Beautiful Books

Leave a Reply

